Louisville Ag Club Names 2016 Scholarship Winners

Agricultural careers beckon for three outstanding Louisville metro students who have won college scholarships.

The Louisville Ag Club, one of few remaining rural/urban clubs in the nation, has announced its annual winners of the Howard Kamin, Corely Brown and Charles Keen scholarships. Each award is worth $4,000 for the winners who come from Louisville, nearby Spencer County and Harrison County in Indiana.

“This is an especially meaningful awards year for us,” said Dwight Greenwell, president of the club. Greenwell explained that Howard Kamin, founder of the scholarship effort (one of which bears his name) passed away earlier this year at age 95. Kamin was a stalwart in promoting the scholarship efforts, and pushed to raise the funds in every way possible. Almost all of the dollars funding these scholarships are the result of Ag Club members volunteering to be the voice of Freddy Farm Bureau at the State Fair each year, or in being volunteers for PGA events and other efforts. “It’s a very hands-on effort,” said Greenwell who is Manager of Member Services for the Kentucky Farm Bureau.

Howard Kamin Winner

Teaching others about agriculture is the goal for Ryan Linton, a Spencer County senior who plans to attend Western Kentucky University and pursue a degree in ag education. Ryan is the winner of the Howard Kamin Scholarship, the club’s top award named for the recently deceased Ag Club member who championed the scholarship effort begun in 1983. A points judging system ranks the winners; the financial rewards are all equal. Ryan’s heavy involvement in the Spencer County FFA’s National Championship Dairy Judging Team has taught him the value of helping others learn. Those values carried over into his work for the school’s theatre program (acting, singing and providing technical support) and to his academics where he attained Honor Society and Beta Club recognition Ryan is the son of Larry Linton and Stephanie Linton of Taylorsville.  

Corley Brown Winner

Sydney Eply, whose desire is to become a veterinarian, is the winner of the Corley Brown Scholarship named after a beloved Jefferson County extension agent for agriculture. Sydney is a 17-year old graduating senior at Atherton High School who plans to attend the University of Kentucky. She is the daughter of Ronnie and Laraine Eply of Louisville. During her high school years, Sydney’s been involved in horsemanship, archery, theatre, swimming and been a member of both the National Honor Society and the Japanese Honors Society. She has also volunteered as an aide to children with autism and special needs.

Charles Keen Winner

Harrison County farm girl Cheyenne Sieberns is the winner of the Charles Keen Scholarship, named for the club’s founder and one of its early presidents. Mr. Keen (then associated with the Chamber of Commerce) spawned the idea for creation of a club that would bring interests of farm and city residents together. Cheyenne will likely experience those same interests when she pursues a degree at Murray State University in the area of veterinary technology. That choice was inspired by her grandfather, John Sieberns, who Cheyenne watched work with animals throughout her life. As a hired hand on two southern Indiana farms, she’s already experienced working with animals, pulling calves, drawing blood for pregnancy tests, vaccinating and yes, even cleaning those stalls. An active FFA and 4-H member, she also enjoys being part of the Old Capitol Saddle Club. She is the daughter of Charlie and Marla Sieberns of Corydon.

The Louisville Ag Club is one of the nation’s oldest associations dedicated to furthering relationships and understanding between urban/rural dwellers. Its members consist of farmers, people working in farm related businesses, and those from academic and research fields. The club meets monthly and includes members from Jefferson and its surrounding counties, including counties in southern Indiana. You can learn more about the Ag Club by visiting www.louisvilleagclub.com.

Comments are closed.